March 11, 2022

Municipal reform goes through House of Parliament

After a long and difficult process of more than 10 years, the passing of the reform Bills is a historic milestone for the Local Government and Cyprus in general.

The reform sees rearranging and consolidating the current 30 municipalities into 20. The new arrangement will see Nicosia district with five municipalities; Limassol with four; Larnaca with five; Paphos with four; and Famagusta with two.

The new modern model of municipal administration is based on transparency and accountability, while the new responsibilities assigned to them enable them to manage their local affairs more effectively.
At the same time, the creation of 30 local communities as a separate legal entity each, significantly upgrades the ability to provide services in our countryside.

The new municipal framework will be implemented by May 2024

Recent posts

Georghios Colocassides & Partners LLC is a client-oriented Nicosia-based boutique law firm specialising in business and corporate law and associated litigation, delivering high standard practical solutions to the local and international markets. 

3, Roupel Str., 1105 Nicosia, CY
Copyright © 2022 GEORGHIOS COLOCASSIDES & PARTNERS LLC. All Rights Reserved
cross-circletext-align-justify linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram